Change to Ebola Affected Countries (MOHLTC, November 2014)

According to the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care, the list of Ebola virus disease (EVD) affected geographic areas in West Africa has changed. The current list of countries screening patients for is:

•    Guinea
•    Sierra Leone
•    Liberia
•    Mali

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has been removed. The World Health Organization declared  the DRC Ebola free on Nov. 21 as there have been no cases registered in the country for the past 42 days, a time period twice as long as the Ebola incubation period.

Bamako, Mali has been added to the list of affected countries. Given the localized Ebola transmission in this city, health care workers should ensure they are appropriately screening, assessing, and if needed, testing returning travelers from this area.

For more information visit